Academic Subject Clusters

The three White Rose universities have a breadth of expertise across a number of academic areas.  In WRoCAH these are represented by seven academic clusters each of which covers a range of research areas.

Each Academic Cluster has a Chairperson that sits on the WRoCAH Studentships Committee. They also co-ordinate cross-consortium collaborative research activities such as subject-specific forums and interdisciplinary research forums.

Creative Arts and Media

The Creative Arts Academic Subject Cluster incorporates the broad sweep of Design, Music, Drama, Dance, Architecture, Visual Arts and Culture. Each is an area of research strength in one or more of the White Rose institutions.

English and Cultural Studies

The White Rose English schools offer internationally-recognised research expertise in every area of the study of English Literature and Language, with specialism in writing world languages from classical to the modern period.

image.pngHeritage and Material Culture

The Heritage and Material Culture subject cluster embraces the disciplines of Art History, Archaeology, Classics, and Cultural & Museum Studies, as well as aspects of Human Geography. Dummy text added for spacing reasons.


The Universities of Leeds, Sheffield and York have a long and distinguished tradition of studying history. History was central to the creation of all three universities, beginning with Modern History as a foundation chair at Leeds in 1904.

Modern Languages and Linguistics

Research in Modern Languages and Linguistics at York, Leeds and Sheffield is diverse and varied from theoretical and empirical linguistics, language acquisition, psycholinguistics, language variation, forensic speech science, phonetics and phonology, syntax and semantics.


The Thought Academic Subject Cluster comprises the academic disciplines of Philosophy, Law, Theology, Religious and Biblical Studies, which have significant strengths and a history of collaboration across all three universities.